New role in life… caregiver to a senior person

The madness has begun. My darling man will leave on Mother’s Day for a little over a month. And when he returns there will be another man with him, ready to move into our home and make it his. My father in-law. Yes,  my eighty-two year old father in-law will be spending his remaining days-months-years with us. While I look at that with undeniable trepidation, I realize how nice it will be for my children.

Meanwhile we were running around shopping for his furniture, getting the room and the house ready, making some minor repairs, fixing the garden, and generally running ourselves ragged.  And we still have a few days to go.

The thing I’ve been telling myself for three years now (ever since his wife died and we knew he was going to move in), is to stay positive. But man, that can be hard at times. Even more so when this is your spouses’ parent, and you really cannot tell your spouse about your fears and worries. That’s what girlfriends are for, right?  My biggest fear? Will our marriage survive this? I don’t know. Kinda hard to make a marriage survive when you can’t communicate with each other.

One day at a time. One day at a time…..

5 responses to “New role in life… caregiver to a senior person

  1. I wish you all the best. My father had spent the last 10 years first taking care of his wife’s mom (altzheimer’s) and then his wife’s father same thing plus many health complications. The best thing that he did for everyone involved was get a hospice nuse to come out when things got bad. Please remember that thereis a lot of community support and organizations out there to help you along. 🙂

    • Thank you for your support. Thankfully Alzheimers doesn’t run in our family, and I hope senile dementia stays away as it did with his father. Unfortunately we have no other family here, so it’s me and my husband and kids. Getting a nurse is a good idea. We have some really good hospices in the area.

  2. Think about how difficult it must be for this 82 year old man to leave his home and leave in an absolut strange enviroment.

Leave a Reply

