Vegetarian Lunch #1

Vegetarian lunch_01

Click on the image for a larger version.

Sunday’s lunch was a light and summery meal on a cold, wintry day. I am all souped out, really, and wanted something that reminded us of warmer days.

Zucchini-chickpea patties with a refreshing cucumber sauce
Toasted Israeli Couscous Salad with peppers, feta, olives, tomatoes.

The inspiration came from the blog titled ‘Former Chef’. We liked this salad, but felt in retrospect that the recipe called for too much olive oil and plan on reducing it next time. I felt the salad needed more oomph, but it could be that the preserved lemon which I was unable to find was that missing ‘oomph.’ We added a good squirt of freshly pressed lemon juice instead. The recipe also calls for oil packed olives, which is something I was never fond of. So brined olives it was.

There are tons of the Zucchini Patties and Chickpea Fritters on the web. I just combined them and was quite happy with these nutritious, little bites. Over the years I have perfected the recipe that works for us. If anyone wants it, let me know. Now if only I could find a way to get them so brown and crunchy outside without frying them in olive oil. Anyone have any really working tips?

Today’s lunch will be polenta with goat cheese and topped with a medley of vegetables including zucchini, summer squash, and swiss chard. Since I am the only one eating polenta, the rest of the famiglia will eat whole grain penne pasta instead.

6 responses to “Vegetarian Lunch #1

  1. aw, I have preserved lemon in my fridge. I made it myself! I even posted a blog post on my too-neglected family blog the first time I did it.­čśë
    http://learningtolive-livingtolearn.blogspot.com/2012/01/winter-preserving-lemons.html

    Lovely lunch photo! It looks very appetizing! I personally would love your fritter recipe. I liked Melanie’s chickpea fritter recipe but it relies on vital wheat gluten, which I can’t have. I’m hoping yours doesn’t!­čÖé

Leave a Reply

