Of mice, start of school, delightful dinners, and tears

Monday the 27th of August was an interesting day from start to finish. We started the day bright and early, after all the first day of school demands some sort of sacrifice.  The kids were ready to learn and we were able to get several lessons in before we had to leave the house to take Bear to his art class at the next door elementary school, and Missy for her allergy shots. We came back and settled down to a snack followed by a few more lessons before lunch.  At lunch my FIL did one of his FIL things again. Those things which simultaneously amuse and annoy me.  Earlier when moving in with us he complained to his son about the food and how he wanted to eat rice, dal, and veggies for lunch. Fine, so I cook his Bengali style veggies, dal, rice etc, and what does he choose for lunch? Left-over Chinese fried rice, from Saturday’s lunch. Well, I suppose I ought to be flattered that he likes my cooking but eat the damned veggies, dude! Nobody else wants that boiled down, mushy, murdered veggie stew.

In the afternoon, I made some tea for us and went to pull out some almonds for FIL. I keep them in a stainless steel container. But the container was empty after I removed the last five almonds, so I reached for the new bag I had just purchased two days earlier. Alas, it was not to be. A mouse had gotten to it first and made a big hole in the bag.  We usually get mice during fall and winter and I am forever setting traps, for a mouse to come in August was strange. FIL reminded me though that we had torrential rains two days earlier and they probably wanted a dry spot.  Well, I did have some older sticky traps and set them in the snack drawer which had ben violated by that dastardly rodent.

Dinner was Panko crusted salmon, steamed veggies, and curried rice, followed by a caramel apple galette with freshly whipped, barely sweetened cream. Delicious! We sat down to watch a move with Missy called Sarah’s key. This was her first movie about the Holocaust and as expected my poor little girl eventually burst into heaving, desperate tears.  It broke my heart but I allowed it to happen. We talked for a long time afterwards. I told her it was alright to cry when watching some stories, and if anything was worth crying for, it was  this. Since we will be covering WWII in depth this year, including several lessons on the Holocaust, I felt she needed to become acquainted with it. And there is no gentle easy way to do this.

So, as I was to find out the next morning, we had a partly bald mouse napping in some dark corner of the kitchen. The animal was able to get off the older paper backed sticky traps leaving behind only some panic poops and fur.  This called for serious measures.

In the afternoon I made a trip to the hardware store (Lowes) and as I stood there by the display of various rodent killing devices, I noticed some movement at my right, lower peripheral vision. I turned my head to see more clearly and saw a mouse walk past me, stop, look at me and in no particular hurry keep going on its merry way.  ‘Yeah,’ I thought, ‘Keep moving, ’cause cousin Mortimer, gets it tonight.’

Now it’s Wednesday morning, Woden’s Day, and I am drinking my obligatory morning tea. Nothing happens in this house unless I have my tea first. The mouse, which is for the time being still alive, but stuck on the glue pad, will meet its maker in short order.

Now it’s time to get moving. The tea is done, the kids are up, FIL and IT man are up, a dog needs to be fed, kids need feeding, and a mouse must meet the executioner.

Carnefice, that’s me.

One response to “Of mice, start of school, delightful dinners, and tears

  1. You’re cracking me up early in the morning already! I am very much looking forward to “starting school” again. It’s not that I don’t believe we learn each and every day, I do, but having a tidy schedule is a reassuring vehicle for accomplishing what one sets out to achieve in a given day, week, month. I like that. I’d better get my rodent-trapping apparatus ready, our neighborhood attracts the little buggers like nobody’s business in the cool months.
    I remember the first time Duncan accidentally got an adult history book instead of a children’s one at the library. It was on the holocaust and he was way too young. Hard moments for tender years, aren’t they?
    Your post is beautifully put, like usual!

Leave a Reply

